Advantages of USMS membership? (or Should I get one?)

worthyadvisorworthyadvisor Member
edited June 2013 in General Discussion
Hi all,

Now that I'm getting back into my swimming routine again, I'm wondering (again) if there is any advantage to becoming a USMS member as an open water swimmer? I didn't bother when I was training before, but I'm wondering if it's worth it now, since I plan on doing more swims in the next few years than just the Tiburon. Besides the training, can a membership get you access to swimming areas that you wouldn't normally be able to swim in? Do legal agencies ask if you are part of this organization? If there isn't an advantage to USMS, is there any other organization that I should look into?

Thanks
Gina
Training for The Tiburon Mile 2014 and possibly Alcatraz! Also: I'm a seminary student.

Comments

• IronMikeIronMike Bishkek, KyrgyzstanCharter Member
    Gina,
    If you and one other person (maybe two) could create a USMS club and as long as one of you has eyes on the other two, you're covered by USMS insurance.

Other than that, I can't think of one. The Swimmer magazine isn't worth the $30-something bucks.
  • @ironmike: there's a club at the pool I swim at, so I was wondering if they did things that I couldn't do on my own...although, from your post it sounds like not...
    Training for The Tiburon Mile 2014 and possibly Alcatraz! Also: I'm a seminary student.
  • ChickenOSeaChickenOSea Charter Member
    You probably have to joinUSMS to practice with the masters team. My team registration fee just includes entry to USMS
  • I have my membership to train with my club. Other than that, as an open water guy, there isn't a lot of other benefit, in my mind. Especially with fewer and fewer races being sanctioned by USMS.
  • You probably have to joinUSMS to practice with the masters team. My team registration fee just includes entry to USMS

Luckily only half the pool is set aside the usms...the rest of the lanes are for anyone.