Drag Chutes

edited January 2014 in General Discussion
Hi everyone. I am currently training for a Catalina Channel swim in July and unfortunately am stuck in pools here in the Northeast. I have started using a chute that creates drag for some of my sets. I feel like it is forcing me to concentrate on my form as well as building swim specific strength. I am curious if any others have had experience with this kind of pool toy. Also, what do some of the experts on here think about using it. Are there any other toys I should consider apart from the typical ones like a pull buoy? Thanks for any thoughts you might have.
Tagged:

Comments

• Leonard_JansenLeonard_Jansen Charter Member
    I have no experience with chutes, so no comment there.

As to other toys, I am absolutely wild about Fist Gloves. I find that they correct all sorts of form flaws AND are a good way to get in a useful workout if my shoulders are in bad shape and/or injury recovery - they reduce the force transmitted to the shoulder.

Just sayin'

-LBJ

“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess.” - Oscar Wilde

• I do enjoy my pool toys. I was very upset last night when one of my 11 year old paddles from college broke in half!
    I have used the chute a few times and it is perfectly fine...not my favorite but okay.
    I really like the stretch cords. We use them weekly. Sometimes I use an easier cord than I would have used if I were training for short sprints and go on a minute interval (25 pulling the cord down, then just pulling yourself back). I find this is REALLY helpful in getting yourself to continue with a quality DPS stroke when the circumstances are less favorable...like when you are tired or when it is choppy and you feel like you are trying to go faster but you are spinning your wheels.