Marathon Swim Group in Los Angeles area

CoachVCoachV Member
edited May 2012 in Locations & Networking
Hi I'm new to marathon swimming in the Los Angeles area and I'm looking to find a group of swimmers to train with for 5k, 10k and 25k distances & night swims. The only groups I know of are triathletes and short distance ow swimmers training for under 5k distances.

Comments

• CoachVCoachV Member
    Anyone else training for long swims and live in Los Angeles?
  • IronMikeIronMike Northern VirginiaCharter Member
    Isn't Gerry Rodriguez's group down there? Tower 26 or something like that? Or is that the triathlete group you're talking about?

We're all just carbon, water, starlight, oxygen and dreams

• mmeadmmead Charter Member
    Hi CoachV,

Shoot me an email at mallory.mead@hotmail.com with an estimation of your pace/100m. Unfortunately LA doesn't have a really established training group (other than the triathletes, as you noticed) so its all by word of mouth. I'll put some feelers out and see what I can come up with for you.

M
  • evmoevmo SydneyAdmin
    If all else fails, you could just try showing up in Manhattan Beach or Malibu (or anywhere it seems likely people would swim) around 6am or 5pm weekdays, or mid-late morning weekends (again - whenever it seems likely people would swim). I've met a lot of people this way, in various locations.
  • Hey CoachV,
    I'm also new to marathon swimming and will be attempting my first 10k in August. I've put my program together by swimming with UCLA Masters, which has 2-3 coached workouts daily (except Sundays). Saturdays are 2 x 1:15 workouts LCM. That gives me 2.5 hours on Saturday (7-8k) and like IronMike suggested, I join Tower 26 for coached ocean swims 90-120 minutes every Wednesday morning. There are a number of UCLA Master Swimmers who do open water races, a subset of whom do marathon distances races. I throw in some speed work with the UCLA Tri Team and I think I've got a program that will get me there.