Advice for 1st ever marathon swim

efthemesefthemes Member
edited November 2012 in Beginner Questions
Hello everybody.

I am new in marathon swim, but a veteran pool swimmer. In 3 weeks I will participate in my first ever openwater race. The distance is not so daunting, just 3.5k. I am very comfortable with this distance, but being my first race I have a tonn of questions for my preparation.

- As I always have trouble with my silicon cap, which tends to slip off in a regular basis, I was wondering if a neoprene cap with a strap could resolve this issue. My worry is whether this kind of cap is acceptable in races or not?

- From my reading in this forum, I conclude that it is "legal" to apply vaseline or any other lubricate on your body. My question is, if I really need to do so, for such a short distance?

- There is a pre-race worm-up. Is that reffering usually to a land worm-up? What kind of excercises are considered suitable?

- I usualy breathe every 3 strokes, but in openwater there are waves to consider. Should I breathe away from the waves and adopt a different breathing pattern on every direction change?

- Are earplugs necessary?

- What would be the best race strategy? Would it be better to keep up with the group or set my own pace?

That's a lot of questions, I know, but as it is my first ever event, I would like to be prepared for it.

I am very grateful to have found this wonderful community, just in time :)

Thank you for any answer!

Comments

• @Niek Thank you for the link! It contains alot of interesting information. But I still feel that I don't have all the answers I want.
  • gregocgregoc Charter Member
    @efthemes, we need a little more info to answer some of your questions. Where is the swim? What is the expected water temperature? Is the swim in the ocean, lake river, etc..? How many swimmers are competing?
  • gregocgregoc Charter Member