Research publication

KarenTKarenT Charter Member
edited September 2012 in General Discussion
Dear all,

As many of you will already know, with my sociologist's hat on, I've been working for the last three years on a project called "Becoming a Channel Swimmer". The research phase of the project is now coming to an end, so no more glorious research trips to California for me in the foreseeable future! However, to mark the end of the project, I've just published a magazine setting out the key findings. If you would like to have a look at it, you can download it at:

http://www2.warwick.ac.uk/fac/soc/sociology/staff/academicstaff/throsby/homepage/channelswimmer/research/publications/

I'd also like to take this opportunity to thank those who have helped out with the research project - I've swum, talked, eaten and generally hung out with many members of this forum over the last few years, and it's been a total pleasure.

I'm still working on the swimming research, and for the next year, I'll be concentrating my energies on the book from the project - "Immersion". And after a year off serious swimming, I'm back in training - I don't see how I can write a swimming book without it!

Congrats to all those who've swum this year, and thanks to everyone who's helped with the project.

Best wishes
Karen

Comments

• loneswimmerloneswimmer IrelandCharter Member
    edited September 2012
    That's my reading for tomorrow sorted. Thanks Karen!

Edit: As @david_barra says below it IS a great read.

loneswimmer.com

• david_barradavid_barra NYCharter Member
    A great read.
    Thank you Karen!

...anything worth doing is worth overdoing.

• heartheart San Francisco, CACharter Member
    Thanks, Karen!