Bubble Caps

evmoevmo SydneyAdmin
edited February 2013 in General Discussion
This discussion was created from comments split from: Marathon Swimming Rules Survey.

Tagged:

Comments

• IronMikeIronMike Northern VirginiaCharter Member
    That's a bubble cap? Is that normally disallowed? Are those actual bubbles that retain heat or smthg like that?

We're all just carbon, water, starlight, oxygen and dreams

• dc_in_sfdc_in_sf San FranciscoCharter Member
    edited January 2013
    IronMike wrote:
    That's a bubble cap? Is that normally disallowed? Are those actual bubbles that retain heat or smthg like that?
    the bubble are just indentations in the surface of the cap (i.e. there are no enclosed air spaces in the cap itself). It does serve to potentially trap air between the head and the cap so some folk feel they are warmer than a regular silicone cap. They have been legal for English Channel crossings in the past as I understand it, but I have no personal experience in that regard.

http://notdrowningswimming.com - open water adventures of a very ordinary swimmer

• SharkoSharko Tomales BayGuest
    I wore a bubble cap on my ec swim and still use them because they cover the ears and stay on the head due to a rubber strap...I have seen a lot of swimmers caps pop off during long swims...not a good thing!!!

"I never met a shark I didn't like"

• paulmpaulm Senior Member
    Sharko wrote:
    I wore a bubble cap on my ec swim and still use them because they cover the ears and stay on the head due to a rubber strap...I have seen a lot of swimmers caps pop off during long swims...not a good thing!!!

Question Sharko- what was the cap made of ?? I thought nearly all of the bubble caps were made of material which offered additional thermal protection -and i thought not allowed in the EC ??