2020 Global Marathon Swimming Awards

The MSF Global Marathon Swimming Awards, now in their ninth year, annually recognize the most outstanding achievements and contributions in solo marathon swimming.

Solo Swim of the Year

Recognizing the most outstanding solo marathon swim of 2020.


  • Swim must be solo, nonstop, and conducted according to unassisted marathon swimming rules (MSF Rules, English Channel rules, or equivalent).
  • Swim must be ratified by an established local sanction association OR if it is an independent swim, documented through MSF Documented Swims.
  • Unsanctioned swims - defined as self-organized swims conducted on routes already governed by an established local sanction association - are not eligible.

Nominations will be reviewed and approved by the MSF Core Team before proceeding to the finalist selection vote, which is open to all current MSF members.

Nomination Form

Interested in supporting the development of MSF and the LongSwims Database? Consider joining as an annual member. Only current MSF members are eligible to vote for the Barra List and the finalist selection for Solo Swim of the Year.

Barra List

Recognizing outstanding overall years of marathon swimming.

Finalists to be announced soon.

Service to Marathon Swimming (2019-2020)

Phil White (United States) - Founder, Kingdom Games and Northeast Kingdom Open Water Swimming Association.

View award citation.